Exclusive Excerpt: Do Not Disturb by Chris Scully

Blurb:
Check-in for a night at the boutique Benton Hotel, where the motto is “we’re not satisfied until you are”, with this collection of three sweet and sexy short stories.

In Watch Me, a hotel clerk makes a surprising discovery about his colleague’s personal life, and an even more unexpected discovery about himself when he borrows a uniform, while a married man looking to spice things up finds a night of passion when he meets a stranger in a hotel pub in Wedded. Finally, in Wanted, a young man exploring his sexuality gets more than he bargained for from his hook-up.

Where To Buy:
Amazon

Exclusive Excerpt:
From the short story “Watch Me” in Do Not Disturb

I wasn’t entirely naive. I had a vague sense this site might not be suitable for work, so I dug out my laptop, which I’d brought hoping to check up on some of my private clients, and logged into the hotel’s Wi-Fi.

The link took me to a splash page requiring a user id and password. I entered them, and was immediately directed to a webcam page.

I gulped.

There was a man on the split screen. A naked man. The camera angle displayed him from the dimpled chin down to mid-thigh; a toned, hairless torso, tight dime-sized nipples, an outie bellybutton, shaved pubes.

His penis was long and uncut, darker than the rest of his light brown skin. He was only half hard at the moment, and he leisurely played with his foreskin, drawing it over the head of his shaft and pinching it between his fingers.

I gasped at the sight of the infinity loop tattooed on the inside of the man’s right wrist. It confirmed what my gut had known the moment I logged on.

It was Lucas.

Lucas. Naked and masturbating for an online audience.

My entire body jolted.

Slamming down the laptop lid, I flew out to the front desk as if chased by an army of demons.

But there was no escape. Those images were seared into my retinas now. Why had I ever looked?

I prayed for a fire alarm. Heck, I’d even take an overflowing toilet at this point. Anything to keep me from going back in there.

And I really wanted to go back in there.

Then it hit me.

There had been a user id. Would he have seen me log on? Wondered how someone got hold of it?

Maybe he hadn’t noticed. I mean, he’d been kind of occupied.

Fondling his cock.

I squeezed my eyes shut as if I could block out the sight.

Sure, Lucas was a little uninhibited. He oozed sensuality. If the staff rumor mill was to be believed, he’d slept with everyone here except for me and our manager, Dena, who was well into her sixties and happily married.

But masturbating, on camera, for strangers?

What kind of person did that?

“It’s different now, Uncle Winston,” my nephew Darius always reminded me. “People are more open. Able to be their true selves.” And he should know. Darius headlined as Beyoncé three times a week at a club downtown. He put on a great show, although it had taken me some time to wrap my head around the fact that the boy I’d taught to play baseball made a damn fine woman. He’d turned out well despite, or maybe because of, Leta’s hands-off parenting. She’d made sure he’d never felt the sting of a wooden spoon on the back of his hand, or known the fear of the dreaded strap as we had. I admired Darius for being the man he wanted to be, and yes, I envied him a bit too. He made it seem so easy.

I tried not to think about Lucas. I really did. I threw myself into processing transactions and checking on the next day’s reservations. The antique grandfather clock in the lobby seemed to mock me. How long could it possibly take for him to do whatever he did? All I had to do was hold out for fifteen, twenty more minutes.

At the twenty-five-minute mark, my curiosity won out and I gave up fighting it.

With fingers that didn’t seem to be my own, I logged in once more.

Oh, Lord, he was still at it.

About Chris:
Chris Scully lives in Toronto, Canada. She grew up spinning romantic stories in her head and always dreamed of one day being a writer even though life had other plans. Her characters have accompanied her through career turns as a librarian and an IT professional, until finally, to escape the tedium of a corporate day job, she took a chance and began putting her daydreams down on paper several years ago.

Tired of the same old boy-meets-girl stories, she found a home writing gay romance and strives to give her characters the happy endings they deserve. She divides her time between a mundane 9-5 cubicle job and a much more interesting fantasy life. When she’s not working or writing (which doesn’t leave for much time these days) she loves puttering in the garden and traveling. She is an avid reader and tries to bring pieces of other genres and styles to her stories. While her head is crammed full of all the things she’d like to try writing, her focus is always on the characters first. She describes her characters as authentic, ordinary people—the kind of guy you might meet on the street, or the one who might be your best friend.

Although keeping up with social media is still a struggle given her schedule, she does love to hear from readers.

Author Contact:
Email: cscully@bell.net
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.scully.author
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6152322.Chris_Scully
Blog: https://chrisscullyblog.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

