Winter Holiday Round Up Interview: Ner Li by Mell Eight

Blurb:
It’s the holiday season and as usual Ari is feeling left out. He doesn’t celebrate Christmas or even put up a tree. Generally he’s fine with that, but it does mean he doesn’t get to participate in all the holiday cheer happening around him. All he wants is someone to spend Hanukkah with, but so far the only company he has is his dog, which means another season of being overlooked and alone.

Where To Buy:
Less Than Three Press || Smashwords || ARe || Kobo

Interview:
Molly: What music, if any, do you listen to when you write?
Mell: I don’t listen to any music when I write.  To be honest, I find it very distracting.  I’ll be so busy listening to the lyrics and singing along that I don’t end up getting any writing done.  I write best in a quiet room without distractions, although sometimes I can get away with a baseball game or a football game on TV.
Molly: Are you a full time writer, or part time writer?
Mell: I am a part time writer.
Molly: Do you hope to one day be a full time writer?
Mell: I would love to be a full time writer, but I also love food and having a roof over my head.  One day I’ll be able to go full time, I hope, but that day is not today.
Molly: Do you have a word count per day you try to hit?
Mell: I’ve found that if I set a word count goal, I usually won’t make it and then I get upset and writer’s block starts creeping in.  I write better without expectations where I can feel accomplished no matter how much or how little I’m able to write each day.
Molly: When you finish writing a book, how long before you begin writing the next one?
Mell: A problem I have is I can’t work on just one story at a time.  At this moment my to-do list has a ridiculous fifteen stories on it and I will bounce between working on three to five of them in a given day.  When I finish writing one story, I simply cross it off my to-do list and switch my focus to one of the others I’ve been working on.

About Mell:
When Mell Eight was in high school she wrote a short story for an English class.  The assignment was for no more than five pages, yet she had turned in ten and the story wasn’t completed.  Her teacher was impressed, but writing stories for fun was her main source of procrastination from homework; handing in an assignment that actually asked her to write fiction was too good to pass up.  Since then Mell has continued writing, posting in many online communities for fanfiction and original fiction, and eventually branching into slash fiction.  She mostly writes paranormal or fantasy stories, but has been seen exploring the real world once or twice.

Basically I’m your twenty something girl who loves to write, slash fiction in particular.

Author Contact:
Website: http://melleightfiction.weebly.com/
Facebook: http://facebook.com/MellEightFiction
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MellEight

Leave a Reply

