Winter Holiday Round Up and Interview: Hammer’s Thief by Alexis Woods

Blurb:
Eight nights to fall in love.

Running away from his foster home at eighteen, Locke struggles to survive the brutal winter streets in Atlantic City. Trust is a fickle thing, and Locke hasn’t had much of it. He’s worked hard for everything he has. When a helpful security guard takes him in during a Code Blue, Locke discovers that some things are more than they seem. His fantasy becomes reality, but sometimes reality is too good to be true.

Graced by God, Judah Maccabee has dwelt in Yahweh’s kingdom for nigh on two thousand years, rising through His ranks to become a leader among the warrior angels. A blessing bestowed, Yahweh has found the one for him. Now Judah has only the eight nights of Chanukah to fall in love with the one who will complete him. The only catch – his other half must love him in return if he is to stay earthbound. But expecting Locke to fall just as hard and fast as he does rebounds in a devastating way.

When egos rule and demons lurk, can these two men pull together, trust in family and faith, and earn love? And can they do it in a single week?

Where To Buy:
Beaten Track Publishing || Smashwords || Amazon || ARe || Barnes and Noble || Kobo

Interview:
Molly: What music, if any do you listen to when you write?
Alexis: I’ve got an eclectic mix on my phone that I love to listen to while biking which includes all the songs I’ve used for inspiration in my stories. But, I don’t usually listen while I’m writing. Of course, I just  happen to be sitting in a bar, listening to Scott Seann cover some great songs while I’m typing up my answers to your questions.
Molly: Are you a full time writer, or part time writer?
Alexis: Part time writer, part time pharmacist. Also full time mother to three (ages 15, 13 and 10), so you can add part time chauffeur and part time volunteer to that list. I am, however, a full time reader. I can’t live without my books. From the minute I wake to the moment I pull the covers up to my chin, I’m reading in every free minute of my day.
Molly: Do you hope to one day be a full time writer?
Alexis: Nope. Not even on my radar. I have a hard time sitting down for an hour to write, there is no way I could fathom full time.
Molly: Do you have a word count per day you try to hit?
Alexis: I’m usually happy with anything, but it all depends on the day, and if I’ve a project in the works. At the moment, I write when inspiration strikes, but life demands have made putting the effort into other endeavors. Once Hammer’s Thief is fully released, I’ll probably start with a minimum 100 words a day. 100 oftentimes becomes 500 as just sitting down and focusing will garner more words. Some days though all my writing is on my phone at odd moments throughout the spare minutes of my day.
Molly: When you finish writing a book, how long before you begin writing the next one?
Alexis: I usually have a severe lag time of one to two months before I start working 100% on the next story. That’s not to say, I’m not writing, I’m simple not putting a whole lot of effort into it when I’m going to be distracted with edits coming in from beta readers followed by another full read through by me, before I submit it to my editor. Then I’ll be in limbo again waiting for her edits, then I wait again for proofreading notes, promotion and publication. Once the book is released, I can relax and focus on whatever new story I want to work on next. I suspect that with the holidays, January first will be the day to refocus and plan my writing goals for 2017.

About Alexis:
Always an avid reader and colorful dreamer, it was only a matter of time before taking pen to paper, oftentimes literally. Every story I write has a song or theme, sometimes both, that emcompass them because I’m a firm believer in every song tells a story and every story has a song. I sing under my breath, tap my toes and swing my hips, much to the delight of my co-workers and friends. I freely admit that becoming a romance author is the best mid-life crisis a girl could ever have.

I’m an: Anachronist, Coffee Lover, Daughter/Dancer, Friend/Fighter, Jewish, Khazar, Lover/Leader, Mother/Medievalist, Novice/Nightowl, Opinionated, Pharmacist, Romantic/Reenactor, Sister/Scout, Traveler, Visionary, Wife/Writer.

Author Contact:
Blog: http://alexiswoodsaworldaway.blogspot.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008026278147

Leave a Reply

