Interview: The Tyro by Carol Holland March (The Dreamwalkers of Larreta Book 1)

Blurb:
Larreta, home of the dreamwalkers, is being torn apart.

Rifts are forming and swallowing everything in their path. People, structures, entire villages, are disappearing. No one knows where the rifts come from or how to stop them. And they are getting worse.

Leo, a Senior Dreamwalker, is recalled from Earth, where he fled rather than face his failures. His heightened ability to connect with the past is crucial to combat the rifts. He’s drafted to train a handsome new dreamwalker, Jesse: a young man whose own talents are part of the solution to stopping the destruction.

Together, the two must form a complicated passage through time and space, and they can only succeed with mutual trust. First, Leo needs to overcome his personal demons in order to make the necessary connection. But getting closer is not something he wants to do, in spite of his attraction to Jesse. However, the fate of more than one world rests on their success. And time is running out.

Where To Buy:
Smashwords || Amazon || Barnes and Noble || Kobo

Interview:
Molly: What music, if any do you listen to when you write?
Carol: I enjoy music for leisure, but need to work in silence.  I can’t write in cafes either.  I guess I’m too easily distracted.
Molly: Are you a full time writer, or part time writer?
Carol: I write part time.  I am a life and career transition coach, and an editor and writing consultant.  I also teach writing for beginners, how to publish your work, and courses on creativity and shamanism at the University of New Mexico Continuing education.  I write a lot, though, and often spend the majority of my days on writing and editing.  Marketing takes up a lot of time too, and I have the same complaint all authors do.  Marketing takes away from writing time.  But you have to market.  So we all have to figure out how to balance it all.
Molly: Do you hope to one day be a full time writer?
Carol: If I get to the point where I can make a living writing full time, not much would change. I would write more.  But I’m a freelancer now, so it wouldn’t be that much of a transition.
Molly: Do you have a word count per day you try to hit?
Carol: When I’m writing new material, I average 2,000 words a day and sometimes hit 3000 for more.  When I’m editing my page count varies according to the type of editing, but I spend full days on it when I’m on deadline.
Molly: When you finish writing a book, how long before you begin writing the next one?
Carol: I often have multiple projects I’m working on simultaneously. My recently published book, The Tyro, came out in September. I am working on the edits for books 2 and 3 in that trilogy. I recently placed another short book with a different publisher, and I  am writing the first draft stage of another novel that isn’t sold  yet.  It’s important to keep writing.  The more you write, the less resistance you have to deal with. As with everything else in life.

About Carol:
Carol Holland March lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico with two demanding dogs who offer their insight into the meaning of life in exchange for long bike rides and occasional treats. She writes stories about the mysteries that peek from behind the veil.

Her short fiction has appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies. The Tyro is the first volume of her fantasy trilogy, The Dreamwalkers of Larreta.

Carol works as a coach for beginning writers and people in transition. She teaches about creativity, journaling and writing for personal development at the University of New Mexico.

Author Contact:
Website: CarolHollandMarch.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/carol.holland.march.author/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/CarolHMarch
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7374990.Carol_Holland_March

Leave a Reply

