Molly Reviews and Interview: Broken Soldier by Jamie Lynn Miller

Blurb:
Sergeant Connor Finley and Sergeant Shawn Weller are dedicated soldiers working covert ops for Shadow Unit — a joint UK/US anti-terrorism task force.

Partners in the field and out, they had been through hell together for the last four years and made it through standing side by side. But when their latest undercover op to bring down an arms dealer plunges them into a world of drugs, sex and violence, Shawn must literally get in bed with the enemy in order to complete the mission. And Connor is forced to watch, helpless, as his partner is broken into pieces.

Will love be enough to put them both back together or will this be their final mission?

WARNING: Contains scenes of drug use, graphic sex and realistic situations

Where To Buy:
ARe || Amazon

Review:
This book was so good and I really enjoyed it. Right from the start Connor and Shawn are in the middle of the deep end and your heart starts pounding because you can tell it’s not going to be easy catching the bad guy. These two were already together at the beginning of the story, though it hadn’t been for long. That tension of will they and their relationship survive is threaded throughout the story and it creates a tense atmosphere that is wonderful to read. Watching the bad guy get away with so much is so powerful to read and you can feel how it affects Shawn the longer he’s undercover.
The pacing is a bit quick where the total time in the story from start to end is roughly two and a half weeks. Though the toll it takes on Shawn and Connor it certainly feels longer for them because of the hurdles it forces them to overcome. I felt like an undercover operation of the magnitude I was lead to believe it was, should have taken longer. Granted much of the operation already happened at the start of the story. But the actual under cover aspect needed to be longer. I do get why it wasn’t because the redemption part of the story would have had to be longer as well due to circumstances Shawn dealt with while undercover.
I really enjoyed Ms. Miller’s writing style and hope to read more of her books in the future.
Stars:
Four

Interview:
Molly: What music, if any do you listen to when you write?
Jamie: I know the vast majority of authors have a soundtrack they write to, but not me. I’m all about the quiet. But I guess that also comes from the fact that I only have an hour or two to write each morning before I go to work and it’s a bit early for music at 4:45 am. 🙂
Molly: Are you a full time writer, or part time writer?
Jamie: I’m a part time writer. In my day job I’m a graphic designer
Molly: Do you hope to one day be a full time writer?
Jamie: Gosh, I would love that! To be able to think about stories and characters all day long instead of just a small window I’m able to fit in each day. How awesome would that be?
Molly: Do you have a word count per day you try to hit?
Jamie: I’ve never been a word count goal writer. For me, it’s all about finishing the scene. It could be 500 words, it could be 3,000 words. If I can get my scene finished then it’s a successful writing day.
Molly: When you finish writing a book, how long before you begin writing the next one?
Jamie: I usually have a few ideas running around inside my head at all times, so I could start right away if I wanted. But I normally end up taking a couple months to work on promo and reviews for the book I just finished before I let myself fully concentrate on the next book.

About Jamie:
Jamie Lynn Miller has been writing male/male fanfiction stories for nearly fifteen years and decided to take the plunge and go pro in 2008. She’s a romantic at heart, and her stories reflect the desire we all have to find “the one”, persevering through trials and heartache for that happy ending.

Jamie has a degree in Fine Arts and has spent the last thirteen years working as a Graphic Designer. She was born in Chicago and still lives there today, with her husband and their furry, four-footed “children”.

Besides writing, Jamie enjoys traveling, softball, reading, science fiction, hanging out with friends, and just being creative.

She is eternally thankful for all of the love and support her husband has given her over the years with her writing and other endeavors.

Author Contact:
Website: https://jamielynnm.wordpress.com/
Twitter: @JamieLynnAuthor
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jamielynn.miller.3

One response to “Molly Reviews and Interview: Broken Soldier by Jamie Lynn Miller

  1. Pingback: Another 4 STAR review for Broken Soldier! | jamielynnm

Leave a Reply

