Release Day Interview: Visual Effects by Joyce M. Holmes

Blurb:
Drey Winston is a fierce competitor who enjoys challenging her mind and body. But when it comes to her heart—no one ever gets close enough to compete for it. Having grown up believing she was an unwanted burden to her parents, she prefers to keep her feelings well hidden. Just when her hard-fought goals are finally within reach, the audacious Jesse Devlin comes along to breach her carefully guarded defenses. After a disastrous marriage early in life, Jesse Devlin prefers strings-free relationships. Confident and outgoing, he gets along well with women, but his natural charm can’t seem to penetrate Drey Winston’s aloofness. While attempting to win her over, he’s the one who ends up losing his heart. Can this commitment-phobic bachelor convince the stubbornly independent woman he loves that his feelings—and hers—are the real deal?

Where To Buy:
Wild Rose Publishing || Amazon

Interview:
Molly: What music, if any do you listen to when you write?
Joyce: When I first started writing, years ago, I’d listen to my favorite songs of the day while I wrote, but for a long time now, I prefer silence. Quiet helps me focus on the story.
Molly: Are you a full time writer, or part time writer?
Joyce: I’m what I call a stay-at-home writer. That means I’m fortunate enough to not have to work outside the house. However, I’m also fortunate enough to have a hubby who does work to pay the bills. I don’t write every day, although I do writer-stuff every day, whether it be promotion, editing, or composing something for my blog, which I post to every Monday.
Molly: If part time, do you hope to one day be a full time writer? If full time, what was the transition like between part time and full time writer?
Joyce: My full time/part time writing routine works great for me, and I’ll continue to do it this way for as long as I have stories to tell. Although I do miss getting out of the house on occasion and talking to real people instead of just the ones in my head, lol.
Molly: Do you have a word count per day you try to hit?
Joyce: I tried doing the word count thing and found it just put pressure on me that I didn’t need. So, unless I’m under deadline, I write when I can, for as long as I can, and I’m content with that.
Molly: When you finish writing a book, how long before you begin writing the next one?
Joyce: I usually start fairly soon after. It’s a slow process for me, though. I’m more of a pantser than a plotter, but I do need to figure out a general direction, first. I brainstorm ideas and get to know my characters before I put down a single word. So it all depends on how quickly everything progresses. Sometimes weeks, sometimes months.

About Joyce:
Joyce Holmes lives with her husband and very small dog in the beautiful Okanagan region of British Columbia. The award-winning author is happily living her dream of being a stay-at-home writer. Photography and blogging about her travels are two of her passions, along with visiting her kids and grandkids. When she’s not dreaming up stories in her head or planning her next great adventure, she’s off enjoying the great outdoors.

Author Contact:
Website || Facebook || Twitter || Amazon || Goodreads

6 responses to “Release Day Interview: Visual Effects by Joyce M. Holmes

Leave a Reply

