Molly Reviews and Interview: The Runaway Model by Parker Avrile

Blurb:
Kyle’s music blog gets a boost from rumors about his affair with a closeted rock star, but his followers have no idea of the reality of his life on the streets of Vegas. Men? He only lets them get close enough to pick their pockets.

Until Bryce– a wildcatter who struck it rich in North Dakota. He wants one last wild weekend without the bodyguards hovering. The hustler with the sexy English accent seems perfect for no-strings sex. But now Bryce can’t get Kyle out of his head. Especially since that tempting smile is suddenly on every other magazine cover…

Kyle can steal a heart as easily as a precious sapphire. But can he keep the heart he stole once the truth is out about his past?

If you like contemporary gay romance with real characters in a setting that’s a little glitzy and a little gritty, you’ll love The Runaway Model. This full-length 75,000 novel is a complete in one volume, and it’s absolutely cliffhanger free.

Where To Buy:
Amazon

Review:
I wanted to like this story more than I did. There’s some plot holes that are hard to overlook and the emotions between the characters felt wooden and forced. I didn’t really believe the love they claim to have based on their limited interactions.
There wasn’t enough of Bryce’s backstory in this book. It seems like he’s got more story to tell and more background to give. Though I also wanted more feeling from him too. Kyle was hard to like but I also felt for him. He made some stupid choices but they were expected for his age, emotional level, and circumstances. However it was harped a bit too much that he’s the victim where he didn’t do as much to fix his own situation.
I really liked Michel. I want his story and to see how the path he’s currently on gets resolved. I want a happy resolution but I’m not sure if it’s possible to get there.
The ending was too abrupt. The story was long enough that if it kept going it would have gotten too cumbersome. However the “they kiss fade to black” kind of ending without much of a wrap up made me feel like I was missing some story. I’m not and the next book in the trilogy will be out soon. But another paragraph to lead me into wanting to keep going would have been welcomed.
Stars:
Three

Interview:
Molly: What music, if any do you listen to when you write?
Parker: Britpop, noise, grunge, post-punk, garage. Some albums I played over and over during the writing of The Runaway Model include On Avery Island by Neutral Milk Hotel, Tyranny by Julian Casablancas + The Voidz, Different Class by Pulp, The Suburbs by Arcade Fire, …Like Clockwork by Queens of the Stone Age.

Currently I’m experimenting with a technique where you play the same album over and over on repeat while you write and supposedly it triggers you to keep writing. I’m using Strange Trails by Lord Huron a lot. I think there’s a murder in it. For sure, there’s a lot of angst. I need a little angst, a little anger, to create a source of conflict for my stories.
Molly: Are you a full time writer, or part time writer?
Parker: I’m a full-time writer but a part-time author, if you see the distinction. Unfortunately, the market for writing short article and blog items has pretty much collapsed. So I may be moving over into being a full-time fiction author. Time will tell if that’s what people want from me.
Molly: Do you hope to one day be a full time writer?
Parker: I prefer to write fiction part-time because I think the story is richer if it has room to breathe and develop before you hit publish. However, other authors are telling me that writing full-time and creating a large backlist is what you have to do to rank on Amazon and other online sellers. We’ll see how it plays out.
Molly: Do you have a word count per day you try to hit?
Parker: No. I set a timer for two hours and write straight through. Sometimes it’s a lot of words, sometimes it isn’t. What happens, happens. But I find if you pound it out for two hours a day five days a week and you type at a professional speed, you’ll easily generate 10,000 to 15,000 words of rough draft a week, which is more than enough to keep you busy if you spend serious time on revisions.

I type 100+ words a minute. If someone types fewer than 40 words a minute, they may want to practice a bit to get their speed up. Otherwise I think it might be hard to get in the flow and get the words out as fast as they come into your head. There will be days when not much comes out but there will be other days when the words are coming as fast as you can set them down, and you want to be ready.
Molly: When you finish writing a book, how long before you begin writing the next one?
Parker: I wrote The Runaway Millions, Book #2 of The Runaway Model trilogy, at the same time as Model. It’s still in the final rounds of editing but I found that writing both books at once made more sense for me, since I knew where I was going with Kyle and Bryce. It also means readers won’t have so long to wait for Book 2.

I then took off for a couple of months to travel and work more hours on my clients’ projects before I started the third book, The Runaway Father, which switches its focus to another couple. After the break, I realized they faced some challenges I hadn’t known about when I first conceived of their romance.

It’s my opinion that writers benefit from taking frequent breaks, but the reality of the marketplace means that it isn’t always practical. But if you have a choice, I wouldn’t tell you to write one book after another without a break.

About Parker:
I’m Parker Avrile, author of slightly spicy, slightly sweet, always angsty male/male romance. My new publishing company is called Paris April Press, and I’m going to start by publishing some of my stories.

Author Contact:
Website: http://www.therunawaymodel.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/ParkerAvrile

Leave a Reply

