Molly Reviews: Through A Glass, Darkly by Layla Wolfe (The Assassins of Youth MC Book 1)

Blurb:
MAHALIA: I didn’t want to be born. Something went wrong along the way, and I’ve been unsure about my purpose on this earth ever since. If I was hit by a car, if I fell off a cliff, would anyone care? Living in Cornucopia with my sister wives under the watchful eye of our husband, Allred Lee Chiles, has turned me into a robot, unable to feel or think for myself. I’ve been looking through a cloudy glass, not trusting myself or others.

But a man came down from the mountains. I’m captivated by Gideon Fortunati, his name expressing all that he is—keeper of my fate, master of reality, teacher of my future. Gideon’s purifying power has enlightened me about my capabilities. I don’t have to let The Prophet take my daughter and marry her off to that old man. I was guilty of dirt and sin, but I can take my life back now.

GIDEON: I was exiled to this godforsaken wasteland in Utah by our MC Prez. My entire existence has been a struggle, a futile tirade against my maker. I ranted against my fate, and in answer I was sent Mahalia. A naive victim of that twisted false Mormon sect leader. He’s tried to mangle her like a spineless puppet, like he has all the other women—the other girls.

Before I met her, I was a child. Now I’ve given up childish ways, and I can see everything in a mirror, face to face. Faith, hope, and love were all handed to me, and the greatest of these is love. I’ve come too far. There’s no surrender now.
It didn’t look that far on the map.

Where To Buy:
Amazon

Review:
I so enjoy Layla’s stories. I struggled with this one in the beginning. There were some things that Mahalia and Gideon did that I really questioned. However, once the story hit its stride, I couldn’t put it down. I loved seeing how Layla’s typical humor translated to a woman from an extremist polygamy group. Gotta say it was absolutely hysterical in some parts and quite endearing in others. I loved how she uses poetry and religion in the story without being pretentious or coming off as a faith based romance. It’s a fabulous mixture that somehow just works.
I liked how Gideon is setting up a new chapter of The Assassins of Youth, yet didn’t fully realize what he was doing at first. I’m very interested how the Avalanche chapter is going to go as they rebuild the town and interact with the remaining members of Church of Good Fortune.
It was fabulous how she brought Breakiron around full circle in this book. We learn more about his past and things he did in previous books. Plus justice is finally served. I personally would love to see a Bent Zealots book where they find out about the events in this book to see how they react to the news.
I really liked some of the new bikers we meet. They’re interesting characters and you see just enough of them you want to know them better. I think Dingo is my favorite that we meet in this book. He’s fun and all kinds of crazy. I can’t wait to see more about them in future stories!
Stars:
Four

About Layla:
Bestselling author Layla Wolfe is satisfied with a leather jacket, one bad-ass pink camo compound bow, and a vicarious outlaw lifestyle. Her BARE BONES MC series explores the dark, disturbing life of the biker club in Arizona. Her spinoff series THE BENT ZEALOTS MC is a gritty MM saga.

Layla Wolfe is the pen name of multi-published erotic romance author Karen Mercury. To sign up for her email list to be notified of new releases, visit: http://oi.vresp.com/?fid=c6b5ab1d41

Author Contact:
www.laylawolfe.com
www.facebook.com/layla.wolfe
www.twitter.com/LaylaWolfeAutho
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8072579.Layla_Wolfe

 

One response to “Molly Reviews: Through A Glass, Darkly by Layla Wolfe (The Assassins of Youth MC Book 1)

Leave a Reply

