Frances Reviews and Interview: Fate by Rob Rosen

Blurb:
One man, four lovers, and just ten years to choose one set the Hollywood stage in this hilarious coming of age tale of family, friendship, and fate.

Eddie is in love. The problem is, Eddie’s in love with four men… four men simultaneously, that is. But who does Eddie love more? And can the heart feel for that many men equally? Ah, but it does have four chambers, so four seems the most logical choice… at least, of course, to Eddie.

Paula is Eddie’s famous mom. One by one, each of his lovers comes to work for her, their lives so connected that if one of them itches, another one scratches. But who will wind up with whom in this comedic tale of life and love and friendship? In the end, it’s up to fate to decide what none of them could possibly have seen coming.

Review:
Curiosity had me when I read that Fate by Rob Rosen was about a man in love with 4 men. I kept wondering if it was going to be some erotic ménage..or what do you even call a fivesome? I took a gamble and it was far from anything I expected. Overall I really loved the story! Mr. Rosen’s writing is like nothing I’ve read before. The story is written in first person but it is quirky and fun and really well done. Fate is a coming of age story about Eddie who has managed to fall in love with four different men: Brian, Aaron, Curtis and Trevor. What makes it different is their relationships don’t take place in series but in many instances in parallel.

Fate starts in the very beginning when Eddie is first born and takes us through his life as he finally finds his one true love. The majority of the story takes place through his college years where he ends up in relationships with each man.   At no point is Eddie in bed with more than one man at a time, but he definitely explores his sexuality with each man individually. For the most part, I loved all of the characters. Brian, Eddie’s friend from birth, I struggled with the most because while I believe he loves Eddie, he just can’t come out of the closet. Aaron may have been my favorite because he really makes Eddie think…guess that is what makes Aaron a great psychologist in the end. Eddie’s mom, Paula, may never win mother of the year but she brings hilarity to the story.

As a warning for some readers, since I know this can be a sensitive topic, there is cheating. It’s probably the only reason I didn’t give it a solid 5 was because it went a little longer then I wanted.   I do really recommend this story and suggest keeping an open mind, because it all works out perfectly in the end. There is a true HEA for Eddie. I loved Mr. Rosen’s writing style and would definitely love to read more by him.
Stars:
Four

Interview:
Molly: What music, if any do you listen to when you write?
Rob: Apart from the voices inside my head, I write in silence, generally alone, in my bed, under the covers. Truthfully, it’s a very relaxing experience.
Molly: Are you a full time writer, or part time writer?
Rob: I like to say I have two jobs: a 9-5 and a 5-9, the latter being writing. It’s a full time job, but at reduced hours.
Molly: What was the transition like between part time and full time writer?
Rob: Since I’ve been writing professionally for more than 15 years, with 9 novels, 5 anthologies and more than 300 published short stories, I’d say I’m full time. If there was a transition, it was so gradual that I don’t think I noticed it.
Molly: Do you have a word count per day you try to hit?
Rob: Nope, I just write until my brain says to stop. Sometimes I can write 5,000 words in a day, sometimes a thousand. I learned long ago never to push it.
Molly: When you finish writing a book, how long before you begin writing the next one?
Rob: When I finish writing a book, I then have to put it away for a month, then edit it, then submit it, then start working with my publisher, my editor, my cover artist, and my line editor. That takes up to six months, give or take. Then I take a little break. So, I’d say I start writing my next book about eight months after I finish writing the previous one.

About Rob:
Rob Rosen is the author of the critically acclaimed novels, Sparkle: The Queerest Book You’ll Ever Love, the Lambda Literary Award Nominated Divas Las Vegas, which was the winner of the 2010 TLA Gaybies for Best Gay Fiction, Hot Lava, Southern Fried, the Lambda Literary Award Nominated Queerwolf, Vamp, Queens of the Apocalypse, Creature Comfort and the Lambda Literary nominated Fate. His short stories have appeared in more than 200 anthologies. You can find 20 of them in his erotic romance anthology, Good & Hot. He is also the editor of Lust in Time: Erotic Romance Through the Ages, Men of the Manor, Best Gay Erotica 2015 and Best Gay Erotica of the Year, Volume 1.

Author Contact:
Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/therobrosen
Website: http://www.therobrosen.com
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1396636.Rob_Rosen

Where To Buy:
MLR Books: http://www.mlrbooks.com/Bookstore.php?bookid=BR__FATE
ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-fate-1935895-149.html
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Fate-Rob-Rosen-ebook/dp/B0187VVEWQ/

Leave a Reply

