Guest Post: Ace & Kitty by BA Tortuga (Top of the Leader Board Book 1)

Blurb:
King of the cowboys, Ace gets whatever what he wants. Kitty is strong, independent, and madly in love, but will they go all the way?

Ace is a record-breaking all-around champion bull rider. He’s used to being the boss, and he knows what he wants. When he meets reporter Kitty at a black tie event, he knows he wants her, and he’s hoping she feels the same about him.

Kitty loves Ace’s strength, and his old-fashioned gentlemanly ways, which are rare in her world. She’s used to war zones and petty tyrants. Ace wants to protect her, and she’s willing to let him. To a point. She still has a job to do, though, and when danger strikes too close to home, Ace comes to the rescue. Will Ace be able to keep Kitty safe, and by his side?

Guest Post:
BA Tortuga stops by today to talk about her newest series and her love of buddy adventures. What do the two have in common? More than you’d think! I loved what she wrote and I hope you do as well. Read and enjoy!
Buddy Adventures and the Top of the Leaderboard

BA Tortuga

Hey, y’all!

I have a confession to make. I’m BA Tortuga, and I love buddy adventures. Like with the fiery passion of a thousand suns. Now, I’m also old, so I don’t mean those movies about hangovers and stag parties. I love the chemistry in movies like Sahara and Ocean’s Eleven, like Young Guns and Shaun of the Dead. One of my very favorites of all time is Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. Oh, or Tombstone. Tombstone makes me cry every time, and who the heck doesn’t love Kurt Russell and young Val Kilmer? *sparkle*

When I was thinking of new books for the bull riding world that includes Roughstock, I went to the cowboy hall of fame museum in the stockyards in Fort Worth. There was this picture of some very famous cowboys from rodeo maybe twenty years ago, and the Four Horsemen of my universe were born.

Ace, who features in this first book, is the ringleader. Then there’s snarky Steele, pragmatic Cash, and peacemaker Lucky, who will all get their stories, God willing and the creek don’t rise. While this book focuses on Ace’s amazing romance with news reporter Kitty, it also has all the makings of a buddy movie.

There’s a lot of teasing. There’s some talk about the guys’ pasts, and there’s a lot of mounting up and kicking butt. The boys get their game on, and things get a lot Western. (Yep, that’s a term for wild and wooly.)

One of the best things about cowboys is their long lasting friendships with one another. I had a ball figuring out which of these four men was the joker. Which one is the doer. Which is the tragic hero. (*Snorts with laughter.*) The quirks, the way they fit together in the puzzle is one of those situations that never fails to intrigue me. I can listen to the boys endlessly, letting them tell me about that time in Sao Paulo when Steele bet a guy named Joao that he could ride with a Brazilian bull rope.

Then you add in the ladies that these men start to finally find, beginning with Kitty, and we see a whole new side of the guys. Tender. Loving. Fiercely protective. Maybe, in Ace’s case, more understanding when it comes to his employees and his riders on tour. Love changes a man, but in this case, I think it makes friendships stronger.

I hope y’all come along for the ride.

Much Love, y’all!

BA

Excerpt:
“You got a way in, huh?” Two days. That could be promising if she needed to stick around.

“That’s all I need. Of course, now I have to cool my heels.”

“Oh, I’m sure you can think of something to do.” Ace could. He could think of lots.

That smile was knowing, wicked, a little naughty, and it made him go zing. “I’m a smart lady.”

“I bet you are.” Ace paused, glancing at the menu. “If we both eat the onions, there won’t be an issue, huh?”

“You are a smart man, but before we get into that, I have to ask. Are you involved with someone? I’m not opposed to having a little fun, but I’ve been the one who got cheated on more than once. I’m not interested in that.”

“No, ma’am. My last long-time thing was when I was still riding with them.” He jerked a thumb over his shoulder at the Four Horsemen, hoping that didn’t make him sound too desperate.

“Mine was long enough ago that he’s married to a soap opera diva and has two babies, so we’re fair.” She leaned back. “Besides, it takes a strong man to get past Leroy.”

“Leroy?” He frowned a little. “I thought you said you weren’t involved?”

Kitty held up one finger in the universal ‘hold on’ gesture, dug in her purse, pulled out a little phone and started pushing buttons before showing him the picture of a huge older man, shoulders four times as wide as his, holding a tiny baby in his big, dark hands. “This is Leroy and his new daughter. He’s my cameraman, my best friend. He’s my hero.”

“Ah.” Well, that was better. He nodded. “The one on the end on the right? That’s my best buddy Steele Flanagan.”

“That’s a great name.” She wiggled a little and Ace heard the heels click as they fell on the floor and she tucked her feet under her.

“Yeah. I tease him unmercifully.” They shared a grin that was all about best friends.

About BA:
Texan to the bone and an unrepentant Daddy’s Girl, BA Tortuga spends her days with her basset hounds and her beloved wife, texting her sisters, and eating Mexican food. When she’s not doing that, she’s writing. She spends her days off watching rodeo, knitting and surfing Pinterest in the name of research. BA’s personal saviors include her wife, Julia Talbot, her best friend, Sean Michael, and coffee. Lots of coffee. Really good coffee.

Having written everything from fist-fighting rednecks to hard-core cowboys to werewolves, BA does her damnedest to tell the stories of her heart, which was raised in Northeast Texas, but has heard the call of the  high desert and lives in the Sandias. With books ranging from hard-hitting GLBT romance, to fiery menages, to the most traditional of love stories, BA refuses to be pigeon-holed by anyone but the voices in her head.

Author Contact:
Blog: http://batortuga.blogspot.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BATortugaBooks
Instagram: https://instagram.com/batortuga
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/batortuga
Twitter: https://twitter.com/batortuga
Website: http://www.batortuga.com

Where To Buy:
Totally Bound: https://www.totallybound.com/book/ace-and-kitty

Tour Stops:

Giveaway:
Win a free eBook of your choice. For all of the details on how to enter check out the website here.

Leave a Reply

