Review, Interview and Giveaway: Leave It All by April Kelley (Saint Lakes Book 1)

Blurb:
Lucas just wanted to be a normal human being, but normal is highly over-rated.

Lucas Speck had been just some guy who worked at an office supply store and house-sat for his snowbird parents. He was nobody special. Or that’s what he thought before the headaches start and weird things start to happen to him. When people start chasing him his whole life gets turned upside down.

Bennett Somerset is a dragon shifter, who likes his quiet life in his quiet town. He isn’t looking for complications. He already has a family that defines the words, weird and crazy, to perfection. Good thing they live in a small town where nothing ever happens. That is until he smells the most delicious thing in the world and realizes it’s his mate. His little witch of a mate just made things way more complicated.

Review:
This story was very interesting and I enjoyed reading it. I liked how Lucas forced Bennett to wait to claim him. Granted, he didn’t wait as long as he thought originally. But I like that he wasn’t all “We’re mates? *swoon* Claim me now!” Bennett was a little overprotective of Lucas. He was on his own and survived fine for months. He should have been included in the meetings about his safety. Well, he should have anyway even if he didn’t survive on his own for a while since he’s an adult and can make his own decisions. The subplot with the vampires wasn’t fully finished, but this is the first book in the series so I’m interested in reading the next to find out what happens next. The scene with the dragon and the wolf fighting, and the dragon setting the wolf’s butt on fire was hysterical. The circumstances surrounding it weren’t funny. But I like how it got handled. There are some of the support characters that really drew me in and made me want to know more about them. I can’t wait to read their stories to see their happy endings.
Stars:
Three and a half

Interview:
Molly: What music, if any do you listen to when you write?
April: It really depends on what I’m writing. For Leave It All, I listened to the Beatles channel on Pandora and then sometimes I would switch to James Taylor’s channel on that same app. I can’t begin to tell you why that particular genre of music or era appealed to me, but there you have it.
Molly: Are you a full time writer, or part time writer?
April: I write full time.
Molly: What was the transition like between part time and full time writer?
April: Getting something published has always been a life time dream of mine. So when Whispers of Home (Pickleville #1) was published by eXtasy Books I did the math and figured out I could afford to take some time off from my regular job to try this writing thing. I think the hardest part was getting the rest of my family to understand that I work from home. I’m not just home to serve them. That particular transition took a while for all of us.
Molly: Do you have a word count per day you try to hit?
April: I do have a particular word count that I like to hit. That word count is set based on what I know is doable in one day, so it’s a very realistic goal. As I grew as a writer I notice myself going from Novella size stories to Novel size, so I adjust my schedule to fit this length of a book.
Molly: When you finish writing a book, how long before you begin writing the next one?
April: Because I’m a full time writer, the next book happens right away. I have more story ideas than I have time in the day and I also write series, so writing back to back works for me just fine.

Excerpt:
Bennett came closer and sniffed the air. He jumped down next to Forrest and sniffed his hair and clothing. “You smell good.” Bennett’s cock got hard and he backed up, away from Forrest. “Why do you smell like that? Who have you been around?”

“New renter is all. It’s why I’m here actually.” His brother bounced around on the balls of his feet.

Bennett frowned and dismissed the wonderful smell. It was easy to do, especially when he moved away from Forrest. “Whatever it is, I said no.”

“But he needs a job and you need help. It looks like rag city threw up around here.”

That smell drifted to him again, but this time it hadn’t come second hand off Forrest. He turned and saw the most beautiful man Bennett had ever seen. Bennett’s cock hardened in his coverall and his eye changed. His dragon was pacing, wanting closer to their mate. Bennett stalked around Forrest, taking in deep breaths as he drew closer.

The cute little man took a step away from him then and his eyes widened. “Forrest,” the man said his brother’s name in a panic, which pissed Bennett’s dragon off.

Bennett growled out a warning to his brother to stay away from his mate.

“What is he? Oh, God, get him away from me before I freak the fuck out and lose my shit.” The man held a hand up in an attempt to stop him. “Seriously, dude. I don’t know what your problem is but I don’t always have control when I’m scared. Kinda like now. I don’t want to hurt you. I’m sure you’re a perfectly nice guy who just so happens to be looking at me like I’m a cheeseburger.”

About April:
Living in Southwest Michigan, April resides with her husband and two kids. She has been an avid reader for several years. Ever since she wrote her first story at the age of ten, the characters in her head still won’t stop telling their stories. If April isn’t reading or writing, she can be found outside playing with the animals or taking a long walk in the woods.

Author Contact:
Website ǀ Blog | Facebook ǀ Facebook Group ǀ Twitter ǀ Google+ ǀ Pinterest | Email

Where To Buy:
Amazon

Giveaway:
$10 GC from Amazon

Leave a Reply

