Guest Post: My Publishing Journey by K. Lynn

Guest Post:
I am so excited to have K. Lynn on the blog today. She talks about her journey to publishing and all of her stories that have come out in the past year. I truly hope you like reading about how the stories came to be, and some things she learned along the way. Check out all of the books mentioned in the post at the bottom. I’ve read a few and they are definitely worth the read. The ones I haven’t read yet are on my personal TBR list. Read and enjoy!2015 has been an exciting year for me so far. I went from just doing anthology submissions to having a novel and three novellas released between May and September. It’s been a busy summer, to be sure! And I think I’ve learned quite a bit about myself in the process. Being passionate about what you do and what you produce makes all the difference in the world.

My first release was His Womanly Ways, a gender-bender novel that began its life as my first (and so far only) NaNoWriMo project way back in 2011. After finishing its first draft back in December of that year, I put it aside for a number of years, but I still liked the concept of the gender-bender genre, so I came back to it, revised a number of times, then sent it out to publishers in hopes it would fit someone’s list. There were a number of comments, and quite a few wanted me to change the basic principle of the piece, but in the end His Womanly Ways found its home with Torquere Press, a publisher who saw the value of the storyline that I was trying to tell. And after edit rounds, cover rounds, and a few bumps along the road on release week, it’s been finding its audience slowly, but surely. While the novel isn’t for everyone, when I do connect with a reader, it makes me all the more happy.

Next up was my transgender novella Coffee Date. This one began its life as an anthology submission, but the publisher folded before the anthology could be completed. Not willing to let it go, because I loved the characters so much, I expanded and edited and refined until I felt it was polished to a good status. It found its home with Less Than Three Press. I’ve always wanted to see more transgender works be released, as the LGBT market seems to be lacking in that market. Initial feedback from readers is very supportive, and as I say about all my works, the door is not necessarily closed for the characters of the novella. I never know when one of my characters might be whispering in my ear again, so I always keep my mind open on that front.

Soon after, I had my disability novella Must Love Dogs released by Dreamspinner Press. This book stretched by writing ability in that I was writing from the perspective of a blind man, an artist, so clues that are normally available to me in descriptions were not. I couldn’t explain another character’s facial expressions or moods, couldn’t describe the visual world around him, because those outlets weren’t available to him anymore. But pushing myself with that challenge also helped to strengthen my own writing, as well as the eventual editing process with the publisher. I’m glad to say that readers have been enjoying the characters’ journey as much as I did writing it. It’s always an exciting time to work with Dreamspinner Press and I hope to do so again.

And my final release of the year was my novella Storytime from Less Than Three Press. This was another piece that began its life as a possible anthology piece, but in the end was better suited for a single, standalone release. It’s a May-December romance, which isn’t my usual pairing, but the underlying motivations of finding love remains the same. What’s most interesting about this novella is that I had a clear picture of the main character in my head the entire time, and he looked similar to an actual person versus being a totally created combination in my head. But I think the mental image did help to shape the course of his personality as well, so in the end it worked out well. And I hope readers will enjoy the little peek into his life, too.

So, what have I learned in my whirlwind summer? To write what you love, and eventually you’ll find the right publisher who loves it, too. And also, the best marketing comes from you as the author. No one has as much enthusiasm for your book as you do, so use that to your advantage. I’m happy to share the love of my books and I’m thankful whenever a reader loves them, too. I hope that 2016 has more excitement in store!

More About His Womanly Ways:
https://mollylollyauthor.wordpress.com/2015/05/25/review-and-giveaway-his-womanly-ways-by-k-lynn/

More About Coffee Date:
https://mollylollyauthor.wordpress.com/2015/05/11/review-coffee-date-by-k-lynn/

More About Must Love Dogs:
Blurb:
Since a mugging a year ago, Ben’s lived with blindness. Despite an art career on hold and a deadbeat boyfriend who left him because of his disability, he’s finally getting his life back on track. Ben is gaining a new sense of independence thanks to his guide dog, Colt.

But Ben’s carefully balanced life is thrown into chaos when veterinarian Dr. Jay Connor hits Colt with his car. While Colt is on the mend and recovering nicely, Ben finds that Jay is not only fond of Colt, but also quite interested in Ben. However, one overheard conversation might put a stop to their romance before it can grow into something more. Maybe Ben’s destined to go it alone in the dark. Or can Jay help him see there’s still a chance for happily ever after?

Where To Buy:
Dreamspinner: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=6669
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Must-Love-Dogs-K-Lynn-ebook/dp/B01297BHXU

More About Storytime:
Blurb:
Since the death of his partner a year ago, sci-fi writer James Murphy has lived a quiet, secluded life. But at the urging of his agent, he finally makes an effort to rejoin society. His first step is volunteering for a weekly storytime at the local library. The decision seems like a good one when he meets the children’s librarian, David.

Bright and engaging, David somehow manages to make James feel like everything will be okay. But when mutual friendship leads to a budding romance, the move forward could be too much for James. Leaving his past love behind once and for all might be a step he’ll never be ready to take.

Where To Buy:
Less Than Three: http://www.lessthanthreepress.com/books/index.php?main_page=product_bookx_info&products_id=963
Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/565826?ref=MollyLollyReader
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Storytime-K-Lynn-ebook/dp/B015YKG10I

About K.:
K. Lynn has been an avid reader and writer since childhood. While in college, K. Lynn increased her involvement in LGBT issues and writing within the LGBT fiction genre. She has become a long-time fan of the authors that seek to explore the commonality that exists within all sexualities and genders. Most of K. Lynn’s work features LGBT characters, many of whom are in established relationships and show how love perseveres through every trial and tribulation that life holds. She also has a particular interest in seeing transgender characters gain a larger foothold within the LGBT fiction genre, hoping that the market for these works expand in the future.

Author Contact:
Contact K. Lynn at writerklynn@gmail.com or follow her on Twitter @WriterKLynn

Leave a Reply

