Interview: Onwaachige the Dreamer by Jay Jordan Hawke (The Two-Spirits Chronicles Book 3)

Blurb:
What would you do for the boy you loved? What if to save him you had to abandon him forever?

Fourteen-year-old Joshua Ishkoday faces an impossible decision as a terrifying dream sets him upon a thrilling and treacherous journey of self-exploration through the dangerous vastness of the Wisconsin northwoods. There, along with his best friends, Mokwa and Little Deer, Joshua summons the power to confront his greatest fears. To do so, all he has to do is trust in his dreams. Unfortunately, Joshua discovers that his dreams have been deceiving him thanks to the intrusion of strange creatures. For out in the middle of the forest dwell the enigmatic Memegwesi, bizarre manitous who have a special plan for Joshua. Joshua soon realizes that he has three monsters to battle: the extraordinary creatures haunting his dreams, the dangerous torrential storm brewing in the northwoods, and finally, the greatest demon of all—his homophobic mother.

Interview:
Molly: What music, if any do you listen to when you write?
Jay: For all three books in my Two-spirit Chronicles, I listened to Powwow radio at powwows.com. It helped set the mood.
Molly: Are you a full time writer, or part time writer?
Jay: I wish I was a full time writer, but alas, I don’t make nearly enough money for writing to be anything but a hobby – a hobby that I actually lose money on. I’m actually a full time teacher at a high pressure college prep school. That leaves me with about 3 weeks in the summer to write an entire novel, or I have to finish it up the next summer.
Molly: Do you hope to one day be a full time writer?
Jay: Originally, being a full time writer was my goal. But I’ve been doing this for a few years now, and I’ve come around to reality.
Molly: Do you have a word count per day you try to hit?
Jay: No, I don’t plan anything out at all. I’ve found that I just have to write whatever is in my head for that day, and then stop when it is all out. That translates into 2-6 hours of writing every day during my breaks in the summer.
Molly: When you finish writing a book, how long before you begin writing the next one?
Jay: One year in between, as I only have summers to write.

About Jay:
Jay Jordan Hawke holds a bachelor’s, master’s, and Ph.D. in history, as well as a second master’s in Outdoor Education. He loves everything sci-fi, especially Star Trek! He teaches high school history and anxiously awaits the day when he can write full time. His hobbies include camping, movies, reading, running, writing, and attending powwows. He resides in one of the Great Lakes states. Jay Hawke loves to interact with fans through social media.

Author Contact:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jay.hawke
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/JayJordanHawke
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/@JayJordanHawke

Where To Pre-Order:
Harmony Ink Press: https://www.harmonyinkpress.com/books/onwaachige-the-dreamer-by-jay-jordan-hawke-348-b

Leave a Reply

