Guest Post and Giveaway: A Guy’s Thanksgiving by Skylar M. Cates

Blurb:
Two proposals. One giant dog. Reunited lovers.

Welcome to Glamour, Arizona, where the holidays are never dull. Glamour may be a small town, but the surprises keep coming.

Everybody’s looking forward to Thanksgiving. Only Mac Sharma is a reluctant guest. Even as Anthony and Dean make him feel welcome at the Carrino table, Mac feels awkward among the close-knit group of friends. Life gets even more complicated when Conor Harvey shows up in town.

Mac has been in love with Conor since his university days. Too bad Conor broke his heart—right before he fled to his hometown in Ireland without explanation. Conor is still a wild artist and as sexy as Mac remembers. But they’re no longer kids. This Thanksgiving, Mac must decide if he can once more open his heart to Conor.

In Glamour, life is full of heartwarming moments. As the guys from Glamour learn, holiday magic happens when love is all around.

Guest Post:
Skylar talks to us about the future; for her characters anyway. I’m like her friend in that I usually want some kind of epilogue where I see my favorites in the future to show they’re still happy and together. Read and enjoy!
K-I-S-S-I-N-G
I’ve got a good friend who reads my work early, and no matter the couple or the circumstances, she always begs me for an epilogue where the couple marries and adopts kids. I love her enthusiasm for them to get a happy ending, but I often wonder if that needs to be the end game?

Doesn’t it depend on the couple? Some do need the ring and formal promise. Some do need children to feel complete. But not all.

My children love to sing that song about two people “kissing” in a tree, where “first comes love, and then comes marriage…” Seriously, though, in my mind at least two or three of my main characters would either not get married or want kids.

In A Guy’s Thanksgiving, the couples do discuss these issues. One couple has struggled over the issue of whether or not to adopt a baby. Another couple considers marriage. These decisions felt honest to me. But a third couple, I can’t see ever having kids (dogs, however, are another story). But hey, that’s just me. Never say never. They might get in my head one day and demand I write a book about their future children.

Sometimes it’s hard to see your work objectively as a writer. What pieces of your book attracts attention can be surprising. I’ve had my ups and downs while writing the Guy series. I gotten stuck on the plot a few times, and I’ve revised a scene too many times. In my rush to finish, I’ve not always had time to sit back and be thoughtful about my process, so it’s nice to do that today. As my series ends, I am feeling a little nostalgic for all the couples—the ones who were easy and the ones who were hard—and for the journey this world took me on.

What I enjoyed most about composing this Thanksgiving novella was having the chance for all the couples to interact. I feel satisfied where I am leaving them too. Since I wrote this one as a thank you to fans of the series, I hope readers will agree with my choices.

It’s interesting to me how heterosexual romances even more than M/M romances seem to demand this type of end game for their couples: marriage and babies.

But it makes sense too, right? Our society puts a lot of pressure on couples to do these things. It’s much more difficult to be the couple deciding not to get hitched or not to have kids.

Maybe for that reason I do think it’s be fun to see some romances end differently. Like the couple agrees to an open relationship. Or to never get married. I would want the ending to remain HEA and romantic, but I think it would be interesting to see the stereotypes challenged. For me, what would be most important is that the decision remains mutual and loving.

What about you? What is needed for you to be satisfied at the end of a romance novel? What is your end game when it comes to reading romance?

About Skylar:
Skylar M. Cates loves a good romance. She is quite happy to drink some coffee, curl up with a good book, and not move all day. Skylar dreams about spending her days writing her novels, walking along the beach, and making more time for her good friends. On a shoestring budget, Skylar has traveled all over in her early years. Although, lately, the laundry room is the farthest place she has visited, Skylar still loves to chat with people from all around the globe.

Author Contact:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/skylar.cates
Twitter: https://twitter.com/skylarmcates
Website: https://skylarmcates.wordpress.com

Where To Buy:
Dreamspinner Press: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=7011

Giveaway:
One commenter will receive reader’s choice of A Guy’s Thanksgiving or any ebook from her backlist. Comment your answer to the questions in her guest post to be entered for a chance to win. Contest ends November 12th at 6PM Eastern.

3 responses to “Guest Post and Giveaway: A Guy’s Thanksgiving by Skylar M. Cates

  1. Congratulations on the release and looking forward to reading it! I just want some kind of closure. And the couple to be happy. Whether they marry or have kids or animals just be happy where you are in life for now!

    juliesmall2016(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  2. Love your books and can’t wait to read the next Guy book! For me romance is escapism. I really need at least a HFN, but prefer a HEA. I hate cliffhangers, so unless people are upfront about serials I won’t buy. Overarching themes in a series are fun, but I like each book to feel like a complete story rather than the next chapter. I rarely have a preconceived notion as to how the couples/partners are going to end up, other than preferring happy and together – beyond that it’s up to the characters and the writer how to build their world. So I guess the answer to your question is are the characters happy? Beyond that it’s enjoying the world building and the writing.

    Like

  3. Its not important for me that the main characters end up married or have children, but I do like to have the feeling that will have a chance to enjoy a long and happy life together. So hope is probably the most important thing, hope for a loving long term relationship, getting over any difficulties together and if they decide to have children or get married then that is the best decision for them. My ideal would be to find that person and to be committed & happy as long as my parents and grandparents are. If something does happen, as is life, then finding happiness with another is just as important. I read a long running online series where just after a young couple finally got married, adopted a child, then tragically one of them died and the next instalment involved his recovery from this loss and eventual finding a new love.

    I know marriage or even a civil partnership is often entered into to give security to either partner to their shared property. It does not seem romantic but often necessary as their families may contest any will if they do not have this status or even deny them access to their partner if they are in an accident. I know of one couple where the younger of the pair was adopted by his partner, to ensure that if the elder man died that his younger partner would be secure and not lose their home. Thankfully they can get married now, although I am not sure how he can ‘unadopt’ his partner?

    Thank you for the giveaway, I love Skylar’s books and especially enjoying the Sunshine & Happiness series

    Like

Leave a Reply

