Review and Guest Post: Murder and Other Unnatural Disasters by Lida Sideris

Blurb:
Watch out Southern California! There’s a new entertainment attorney in town and she’s got game. Only problem is, it’s not the one she should be playing. Corrie Locke belongs behind a desk, not behind a Glock. She should be taking VIP calls, not nosing around a questionable suicide. Instead, she’s hot on the trail of a murderer. Luckily, she’s the daughter of a late, great private eye and she’s inherited his love of sleuthing…and illegal weaponry. It doesn’t help matters that her gene for caution is a recessive one. Corrie finds herself in the center of a murder case, unearthing suspects in shocking places. With a cold-blooded killer on the loose, Corrie will have to up her game, or die trying.

Review:
I really enjoyed the writing style of this book. It was interesting and kept me reading. The mystery was amazingly well laid out. You go through this whole story constantly saying “He did it… Nope. He did it. No, she did it.” There are enough clues, red herrings, misdirects, and planted evidence to keep you guessing who the bad guys were. It was also fun there were tow minor mysteries that got solved as well. Corrie was hard to like as a character. For someone that is smart and quick, she kept making horrible choices and allowing things to happen around her for no discernible reason. There was the start of what could be a love triangle. But it didn’t surface until near the end. I’m curious if a sequel is planned since it’s left open enough at the end where Corrie could continue her sleuthing. I’d very interested to see more of Corrie and how she handles her job after the events of the end of this book; and if the romantic subplot continues. Gotta know who she picks! My favorite line though is “Somebody’s lying.” “Somebody usually is.” That had me laughing out loud.
Stars:
Three and a half

Guest Post:
Corrie Locke stops by today to tell us about her biggest fear. I have to say, considering some of the things she came up against, this fear doesn’t seem so bad. But at the same time, wow I would be scared of it as well! Read and enjoy!
I can do almost anything. I can change a tire on the side of the road in the dead of night. Shoot a Glock and hit the target. I can re-enact an incident at the scene of a crime by using only facts and instinct. And I can pull off wearing green suede sandals with a pink sundress, no problem (I’m a Southern California girl). Flat tires, weapons, crime scenes and mismatched fashion statements didn’t scare me. But my new job did.

I’m twenty-six-years old, and I just passed the Bar Exam. That was no small miracle considering I was kicked out of UCLA Law School. A classmate stole a final exam and pinned the blame on me. It wasn’t pretty. She was mad because my father busted her pop for running an illegal marijuana dispensary. Dad was a well-known private investigator, much in demand because he always got the perp. I’d shadowed Dad on his cases since I was sixteen. I wasn’t exactly his right hand; I was more like an inside pocket in his favorite jacket. I learned a lot from him.

Mom was afraid I’d follow in Dad’s footsteps. She convinced me to go back to law school. I did. But the only place I could get in was the Humpty Dumpty School of Law (that was my name for it. It was actually the North Glendale School of Law). It was an unaccredited night school with a total of 23 students. How embarrassing was that?

After I passed the Bar, I was the recipient of another miracle – I landed a dream job in the only movie studio located in Orange County, California. I had zero experience, but I got the job. Mom was so ecstatic, she helped me rent a cozy little bootleg unit by the beach, and paid to have my cranky, twelve-year-old BMW fixed.

The trouble started on my second day at the studio. Just when I thought my backseat crime fighting days were over, I got blackmailed into taking on a full blown case. Or risk losing my new job. I thought about saying no, but the truth is, I missed catching wicked guys doing bad things to decent people. One more investigation wouldn’t hurt. I could help a lot of people. Except that Dad wasn’t around to help me. Could I solve a murder on my own? It’s true, I have a lot of illegal weapons I inherited from my father, (Mom doesn’t know), but I try not to use them. They’re for emergencies only. My favorite is the shuriken or Japanese throwing star, a weapon of distraction, not destruction. I sure hope I can keep my job. And stay alive long enough to collect my first paycheck.

About Lida:
Lida Sideris was born in Southern California, where she spent her childhood days and went to school. Her first legal job was in the entertainment industry – she started out as a law clerk for the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers, and ultimately landed her dream job as a Business Affairs Director at Lorimar-Telepictures.

After exiting her studio job, Lida had the opportunity to try her hand at writing a teleplay, acting in a small role in a major motion picture, teaching writers’ workshop to grammar school students, and running a restaurant, before helming a legal non-profit where she still works today. In between it all, she wrote articles for numerous newspapers and magazines.

It was during her most recent legal stint that Lida began writing a mystery novel, reliving moments of her entertainment attorney experiences and reinventing them to fit into her book. She won the Helen McCloy/Mystery Writers of American scholarship for her first novel.

Murder and Other Unnatural Disasters will be released in fall, 2015. She is currently at work on the second in the series.

Lida resides in the northern tip of Southern California with her family and their German Shepherds, Barbie (short for Barbarian) and Duncan, and a flock of uppity chickens.

Author Contact:
Facebook Author Page:
 https://www.facebook.com/lidasideris
Website: http://www.lidasideris.com/
Twitter: @LidaSideris

Where To Buy:
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Lida-Sideris/e/B015FA7UU2/
Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/murder-and-other-unnatural-disasters-lida-sideris/1122590599
iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/author/lida-sideris/id1032787417
Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/murder-and-other-unnatural-disasters

Leave a Reply

