Review, Interview and Giveaway: Reckless Hope by j. leigh bailey (Letting Go Book 2)

Blurb:
What’s life without a little risk?

Or a lot of risk, if you’re Sebastian Carlisle. He’ll never live up to the legacy of his dead brother, so why try? Being the wild child in a family of stuck-up rich snobs suits him just fine.

Until he meets Micah Burke, and everything changes.

Micah’s got too much going on for a relationship. Even if he could trust Sebastian, a distraction—a sexy, reckless distraction with a death wish—would only derail his carefully scheduled life. If it were just Micah, maybe that would be fine, but his mother and sister depend on him, and he can’t let them down. Or at least that’s what he tells himself.

A hot moment leads to a hot night leads to a connection neither of them are ready for. And when a crisis hits Micah’s family hard, Sebastian will have to shed his bad-boy image and decide whether he can be the man Micah needs—and Micah needs to decide whether he’ll let him.

Book two of Letting Go

Review:
I wanted to like the story more than I did. There were wonderful elements in the story that made me sympathize with the characters. They just didn’t deliver as much as they could have. I needed to see more of Micah sacrificing his wants and wishes for his family instead of constantly saying he did and then doing the opposite. He was too harsh on Sebastian to warrant Sebastian saying he loved Micah. His initial thoughts on Sebastian were fine and made sense based on the mask Sebastian put forth. But Micah should have realized sooner he was being a dick more than protecting himself. And Sebastian came off more like the entitled celebutante Micah accused him of being than the guy that’s hurting and putting on a front that he said he was. My favorite scene is where Sebastian took Mr. Powers to task about the shower. It was hysterical, I was laughing so hard by the end of the scene. Sebastian figured out what Mr. Powers needed quickly. But Mr. Powers has Sebastian’s number right from the beginning as well. There’s such potential here that I know I’m going to read the next book in this series and hope there’s more showing of emotions and actions.
Stars:
Three and a half

Interview:
j. leigh: Thank you so much for having me! I’m an office drone by day in the Chicagoland area, and by night I’m the author of New Adult and Young Adult LGBTQ romance. RECKLESS HOPE is the second book in my Letting Go series, and is an opposites attract story centered around two characters who have to overcome the stresses and disappointments of their past to build a happy relationship together. And, while doing this, they have to figure out who they are and, ultimately, what they want for their future.
Molly: What is the biggest thing people think they know about your subject/genre that isn’t so?
j. leigh: It’s not about the sex.

So many people believe that New Adult romance is sexed up Young Adult, and there’s so much more to it than that.

And did you know that a lot of gay romance, no matter the heat level, gets shelved with erotica in bookstores and libraries? There is an assumption that either gay romance is full of sex (even the Young Adult titles) or that somehow gay romance is taboo enough to fall into the erotica category.

While physical intimacy may play a role in a lot of New Adult and gay romance titles, it’s not true for all. New Adult explores a particular age-range, when people are figuring out their future and experiencing independence for the first time. Gay romance is a romance in which the love interest are both male. It has the same genres and issues and tropes of any romance.
Molly: What are some references you used while writing this book?
j. leigh: For the first time in my writing, I did an actual interview of a person who worked in a nursing home. I wanted to get a feel of the daily responsibilities of the different personnel, and the timeline of duties. I also wanted a candid look at the good and bad aspects. Not horror stories about the job, but things like the lingering smell of antiseptic or the constant sounds of the call bells. These are things you can’t get by looking online. The internet is full of the sales pitch for nursing homes and the horror stories about mistreatment. I wanted a day-in-the-life look.

The rest of my research came from online sources, including WebMD and funeral homes for understanding the steps necessary after a loved one dies.
Molly: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
j. leigh: I remember a time a group of us at the babysitter’s house (I was maybe 7) all sat around and wrote a Superman story. By today’s standards, it was total fan fiction, but for us it was something to do. Even then I wrote. I loved all the of the creative writing assignments in school and did more than one project in the form of a story. I even wrote one of the scenes for my eighth grade play. I’ve always been writing in some form or another. But I didn’t pursue it because it wasn’t “practical.” Looking back, that’s one of the few things in my life I regret. I wish I’d taken writing more seriously and started sooner.
Molly: What do your plans for future projects include?
j. leigh: Right now I’m finishing the third book in the Letting Go series, called Fight to Forgive.

As soon as I wrap that up, I have a Young Adult manuscript I need to polish so my agent can send it out on submission. It’s a little more action/adventure than romance, but I had so much fun writing it. It takes place in Cameroon, Africa and has missionary kids kidnapped by mercenaries and held hostage for chemical weapons. There’s snake bites and giant spiders and near-death experiences. I can’t wait to get it out there.

Then I’ll be focusing on some ideas I have for a YA series that takes place on a dude ranch in Wyoming. Something along the lines of the old Nickelodeon show “Hey Dude.” I’m probably showing my age. Anyone more than a year or two older or younger than me probably has no clue that the show actually existed.

That’ll keep me busy for a while, I think.
Molly: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
j. leigh: I am in awe of readers. I was one for so long that it never occurred to me what a difference a reader can make. I am humbled every time I find out someone has read one of my books. The fact that someone has taken time out of their lives to read something I’ve written is a little mind-blowing. When someone takes time to review one of my books, I’m even more humbled. It really does make all the difference, knowing that for a couple of hours, a reader is spending time in my world. It’s amazing and I can’t thank you enough.

Excerpt:
“I thought I knew what kind of person you were.”

“Yeah, you made that pretty clear.”

Micah cringed, but kept going. “You take for granted everything I work my ass off to achieve. It’s easy for you. And now I know there’s more to you than that. I don’t understand your choices, or the need for an adrenaline rush you seem to have.” He held up a hand to keep Sebastian from saying anything. He scooted up, resting his back against the handlebars. “I don’t have to understand. It’s part of who you are.”

“Somehow I don’t think this discussion is heading in a direction I’m going to like.” Sebastian drew his knees to his chest and wrapped his arms around them.

“The thing is, you’re a bad influence on me.”

“I don’t—”

“You don’t even have to do anything. Take tonight, for instance.”

“Tonight?”

“I have a midterm tomorrow. I should be studying. Or even sleeping. Instead I’m here. I never have trouble doing what I’m supposed to do. Setting aside my ‘want tos’ to do my ‘have tos.’ Except around you.”

“I’m not trying to make your life harder. I’m just trying to be part of it.”

“That’s what I don’t get. You could have almost anyone. You could find someone a hell of a lot less complicated than me.”

“You may not believe it, but I don’t mind complications.”

About j. leigh:
j. leigh bailey is an office drone by day and the author of New Adult and Young Adult LGBT Romance by night. She can usually be found with her nose in a book or pressed up against her computer monitor. A book-a-day reading habit sometimes gets in the way of… well, everything…but some habits aren’t worth breaking. She’s been reading romance novels since she was ten years old. The last twenty years or so have not changed her voracious appetite for stories of romance, relationships and achieving that vitally important Happy Ever After. She’s a firm believer that everyone, no matter their gender, age, sexual orientation or paranormal affiliation deserves a happy ending.

She wrote her first story at seven, which was, unbeknownst to her at the time, a charming piece of fan-fiction in which Superman battled (and defeated, of course) the nefarious X Luther. She was quite put out to be told, years later, that the character’s name was actually Lex. Her second masterpiece should have been a best-seller, but the action-packed tale of rescuing her little brother from an alligator attack in the marshes of Florida collected dust for years under the bed instead of gaining critical acclaim.

Now she writes New Adult and Young Adult LGBT Romance novels about boys traversing the crazy world of love, relationships and acceptance.

Author Contact:
Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/jennifer.bailey.39948
Facebook Author Page: http://www.facebook.com/JLeighBailey
Twitter: http://twitter.com/JenniWrites
Goodreads : https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4384864.J_Leigh_Bailey

Where To Buy:
amazon || barnes&noble || kobo || ibooks

Tour Stops:
24-Aug: Scattered Thoughts & Rogue Words, Velvet Panic, Vampires, Werewolves, and Fairies, Oh My
25-Aug: Hearts on Fire, Havan Fellows
26-Aug: Amanda C. Stone, Divine Magazine
27-Aug: V’s Reads, Boys on the Brink Reviews, BFD Book Blog
28-Aug: EE Montgomery, Bayou Book Junkie
31-Aug: Happily Ever Chapter, The Fuzzy, Fluffy World of Chris T. Kat
1-Sep: MM Good Book Reviews, Cathy Brockman Romances, Jessie G. Books
2-Sep: Dawn’s Reading Nook, Book Reviews and More by Kathy, Hearts on Fire
3-Sep: Wicked Faerie’s Tales and Reviews, Inked Rainbow Reads
4-Sep: Just Love Romance, Molly Lolly

Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

One response to “Review, Interview and Giveaway: Reckless Hope by j. leigh bailey (Letting Go Book 2)

  1. Thank you so much for having me today. I love that I am able to share the release of my book with you all. 🙂

    If anyone has any questions or comments, I’d love to hear them. I look forward to any chance to get to know everyone a little better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

