Review, Guest Post and Giveaway: Overly Dramatic by Rebecca Cohen (Treading the Boards Book 1)

Blurb:
Andy Marshall moves to London looking for a fresh start after breaking up with his long-term boyfriend. To stave off boredom from his day job as an accountant and to meet new people, Andy joins a local amateur dramatics society called the Sarky Players based in Greenwich, South London. Despite his best efforts to avoid it, Andy is cast as one of the leads in a truly dreadful play called Whoops, Vicar, There Goes My Trousers, written by a local playwright.

The play might be bad, but the Sarky Players are a friendly bunch. Andy quickly makes new friends and finds himself attracted to Phil Cormack, a local artist helping with the props. But life doesn’t run to a script, so Andy and Phil will have to work hard to improvise their own happy ending.

Review:
This was such a cute story. I enjoyed it so much. Andy is sweet and so deserved to find someone worthy of his affections. Phil is still dealing with his baggage when they meet. But he’s clearly besotted with Andy from the start. Once they’re both finally in a place to get together, you can tell how quickly they begin to fall for each other. The play the group performs is over the top hysterical. I love how Ms. Cohen had the play’s story within the full novel. It takes work to pull it off as well as she did. I loved the full cast of characters that were part of the am-dram group. They all had their own personality and they came alive on their pages. I am excited to read more about these characters in future stories.
Stars:
Four

Guest Post:
Phil stops by today to tell us some of his goals and where he’d like to be in five years. He’s got some wonderful things to work towards. Read and enjoy!
In the next five years I’m hoping to build on the success I’ve had since leaving Slade (School of Fine Art, London). I’ve had a couple of small exhibitions, and sold most pieces, so I can’t grumble, although I’d like to be in the position to give up my part-time job in an arts supply shop in the next couple of years and work full time on my art. My main medium at the moment is acrylics on canvas, but I’d like to try my hand at sculpture at some point.

I’m a member of an amateur dramatics group, and recently created a papier mâché goat for a production. It was great fun to do and I’m happy to stay behind the scenes helping on the props and scenery. I’m pretty sure I’ll still be a member of the Sarky Players, especially if means getting to spend more time with Andy.

I’ve had a bit of a rough ride in the last few years on a personal level, with an off-and on-again relationship that ended up being too open for my tastes. I’m now hoping with the new man in my life I can find some more stability and a loving home life. Maybe in the future I can persuade Andy to move in with me and maybe become my full-time muse.

Excerpt:
The handout turned out to be a few pages of the play stapled together. Andy had expected the script for Cold Comfort Farm—this definitely wasn’t that.

“Er, Derek, have you given us the right play? This says it’s from Whoops, Vicar, There Goes My Trousers.”

“You old dog, Derek,” said Ryan with a guffaw. “You’ve lured in this poor man on the promise of a proper play.”

“It is a proper play, Ryan. Just because it was written by a local doesn’t make it any less credible.”

Dear God, what had he gotten himself into? He quickly checked the flyer and saw for the first time that the date for Cold Comfort Farm audition was the year before. Derek must’ve used the flyer to scribble down the audition times, but whether he’d deliberately meant to mislead Andy was another matter. Andy skimmed through the partial script. Instead of the gentle comedy based around a young woman who arrived in an airplane and something nasty in the woodshed, he had a 1920s farce involving a runaway goat, a vicar, and a large quantity of stolen French brandy. And that was just the scene in front of him.

About Rebecca:
Rebecca Cohen is a Brit abroad. Having swapped the Thames for the Rhine, she has left London behind and now lives with her husband and son in Basel, Switzerland. She can often be found with a pen in one hand and a cup of Darjeeling in the other.

Author Contact:
Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/rebecca.cohen.710
Twitter: http://twitter.com/R_Cohen_writes
Blog: http://rebeccacohenwrites.wordpress.com/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4515613.Rebecca_Cohen

Where To Buy:
Dreamspinner Press: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=6693
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Overly-Dramatic-Treading-Boards-Rebecca-ebook/dp/B013OGE6ME/ref=la_B007UEFIXS_1_10?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1439236796&sr=1-10
ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-overlydramatic-1859660-149.html

Tour Stops:
19-Aug: Hearts on Fire, My Fiction Nook
20-Aug: The Novel Approach, Mikky’s World of Books, Bike Book Reviews
21-Aug: Love Bytes, BFD Book Blog
24-Aug: Decadent Delights
25-Aug: Full Moon Dreaming
26-Aug: Happily Ever Chapter
27-Aug: Bayou Book Junkie
28-Aug: Prism Book Alliance
31-Aug: MM Good Book Reviews
1-Sep: Rainbow Gold Reviews, Molly Lolly

Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

