Review, Exclusive Excerpt and Giveaway: Black and Blühe by RJ Jones (Out Of The Blue Book 2)

Blurb:
Grayson Black has never forgiven himself for not saving his identical twin brother, Jet, from a savage beating at their father’s hands ten years ago. Jet’s near-death never would have happened if Gray hadn’t been so focused on his boyfriend at the time. He has sworn to take care of his brother ever since. Gray can’t afford a distraction from his self-imposed mission, the type of distraction presented by the gorgeous blond showing up at their gigs.

Kris Larson is a firefighter with the San Francisco Fire Department. Since splitting from his girlfriend, his favorite way to spend nights off is watching the Black Brothers play in the bars of the Bay Area, especially the guitarist. But it’s not until the brothers are left homeless after a fire at their apartment building that Kris has the opportunity to know the real person behind the brooding façade.

Gray fights his attraction to Kris, but with a meddlesome twin who just wants him to be happy, it’s a losing battle. Before Gray and Kris can have a lasting relationship, though, Gray must learn to forgive himself, let go of the past, and lay more than one demon to rest.

Review:
Such a wonderful story. Kris and Grey are made for each other. You can tell right from the start they belong together. But there’s some serious baggage in the way that prevents them from getting together fully. Grey is very skittish. However he has good reasons for acting the way he did and feeling the way he did. His and his brother Jet’s past is all kinds of screwed up. They are amazingly well adjusted for having gone through so much. Kris is sweet in how much he wants to care for both guys. For totally different reasons though. Jet is like a brother to Kris and he gets all protective of Jet because of it. A milder version of how Grey does. Of course Kris wants to protect Grey as well since he loves Grey. I enjoyed seeing the guys from the firehouse in the story. There’s a full cast of characters you can’t help but fall for. I hope more of them get their own happy endings. But I’m putting my official request for stories in for Jet, and one for Uncle Mike and Joe. Though maybe a story for Joe NOW and not in the past would be just as good.
Stars:
Four

Exclusive Excerpt:
WHEN I parked the car in the drive, I saw Mom and Dad standing on the porch waiting for us. Jet was first out of the car as he unashamedly bounced up the stairs and gave my mom a hug and kiss on the cheek. I watched as he shook hands with Dad. Dad nodded and said something, then all three of them turned to look at Gray and me still sitting in the car.

I grabbed Gray’s hand. “You okay?” He was a little pale, and I questioned Jet’s decision to make him come with us. I knew my dad could be quite imposing. I’d taken after him with my build and I knew I could be quite intimidating when I wanted to be.

Gray shook himself and smiled slightly. “Yeah… I’m… I’m okay, honest. Let’s go. They’re going to wonder why we’re still in the car.”

I put my hand on his knee to stop him from exiting. “Would you tell me if you weren’t?”

“No.”

“Well, at least you’re honest. I’ll keep my eye on you. C’mon.”

We got out of the car and Gray waited for me to come around to the passenger side before we made our way across the lawn. I grabbed his hand and squeezed it in the hope it settled his nerves a bit. But before I could introduce him to Dad, Mom grabbed him in a tight hug.

“Hello, Gray darling, how are you? Are you looking forward to fishing? Jet tells me that you haven’t been fishing or camping for years. I heard the weather is going to be nice—”

“Mom. Ease up a little.” I tugged Gray gently away from my very excited mother and faced Dad.

“Dad, this is Gray, my boyfriend. It seems you’ve already met his brother, Jet.” Gray and I hadn’t spoken about how he was going to be introduced, but I didn’t see any outward objection to being called my boyfriend.

Gray held his hand out. “Pleased to meet you, sir.”

Dad shook Gray’s hand. “Nice to meet you too, Gray, and your brother. Carol here has been talking nonstop about having more boys in the house, and I can’t wait to see what recipes they come up with for the fish we’ll be catching.”

With those two easy sentences from my dad, Gray relaxed a little. The tension fled from his shoulders and the color returned to his face. He turned to face Mom. “It’s good to meet you, Mrs. Larson. Jet hasn’t been able to contain himself all week and he’s brought all his favorite recipe books with him.”

Gray’s smile was wide and genuine, and I was sure he could charm the pants off just about anyone with it.

Jet and Mom took off to the kitchen, which left Dad, Gray, and me to bring the bags in.

“Holy hell. What’s in this bag?” Dad grunted, when he lifted a small bag from the backseat. From the noises he was making, it was heavy for its size.

“Sorry, sir, I think that has Jet’s recipe books in it.”

“Well, in that case, I think your brother and my wife are going to get along just fine. Her bookshelves are filled to overflowing with cookbooks.”

“Jet might not want to leave if that’s the case.”

“If he can cook half as well as my wife, then he’s welcome to stay as long as he likes.”

Gray’s wide grin and easy laugh at my dad’s words reassured me that he’d be okay this weekend. I knew Gray felt it too. I could see the residual nerves flow out of him.

About RJ:
RJ started as a reader and eventually made the progression to reviewing. It wasn’t until two men popped into her thoughts, insisting on telling her their story that she started to write. It started with one scene. A hot and dirty one in the shower.

RJ’s initial thought was if she could write their scene then they’d shut up and allow her to concentrate on other aspects of the day. That shower scene was 3000 words long and three hours of work.  But they didn’t shut up.  They told her their entire story and she didn’t sleep for days.  Sometimes she couldn’t keep up with what they were telling her and she had to keep a notebook by the bed.

Whilst RJ was writing their story a side character decided he needed his story told too. Then other characters followed suit.

You see the problem? If RJ ever wants to sleep again then she needs to write.

RJ is a wife and a mother to two boys. Even her dog is a boy.

She is surrounded by males.

RJ writes emotionally charged, character driven romances. Her guys will always get their HEA, but it will never be easy.

Author Contact:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robyn.j.jones.1711
Twitter: https://twitter.com/rjjonesauthor
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/rjjonesauthor/
Blog: http://rjjonesauthor.com
Email: rjjonesauthor@gmail.com

Where To Buy:
ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-blackbluhe-1845199-149.html
Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/558457
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B011AKK3DM

Out of the Blue (#1) will be discounted for the duration of the tour.
ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-outoftheblue-1720958-149.html
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Out-Blue-RJ-Jones-ebook/dp/B00UJRDLSC/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1436505396&sr=1-2

Tour Stops:
27-Jul: Prism Book Alliance
28-Jul: Hearts on Fire, Bayou Book Junkie
29-Jul: Jessie G. Books
30-Jul: Carly’s Book Reviews, The Hat Party
31-Jul: Love Bytes
3-Aug: Scattered Thoughts & Rogue Words
4-Aug: My Fiction Nook
5-Aug: The Novel Approach
6-Aug: Just Love Romance
7-Aug: Molly Lolly, Parker Williams

Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

One response to “Review, Exclusive Excerpt and Giveaway: Black and Blühe by RJ Jones (Out Of The Blue Book 2)

Leave a Reply

