Review, Guest Post and Giveaway: Miracle On Mistletoe Lane by Derrick Knight

Blurb:
Joe Koehler and his six-year old son, Joey, are down on their luck. Currently, Joe is unemployed due to a bad economy and taking care of a medically complex son. Recently father and son become homeless due to their apartment catching on fire and Joe being without any insurance. They are forced to live in Joe’s old red pick-up truck. Eventually father and son take refuge at Hope House, a local homeless shelter, which is run by a kindly, yet mysterious, elderly woman named Emily.

Sidney Maier recently inherited his grandparents home but the house is in desperate need of repair. Skills Sidney greatly lacks. He befriends a fellow church member Emily who is the Interim Director at Hope House. Sidney tells Emily that he needs help with remodeling his new home. Also, he confides in her, that he is lonely and wishes he could meet someone special.

Emily and her assistants orchestrate for Joe and Sidney to meet where an instant attraction forms between both men. Joe and Sidney embark on a journey of courtship, but soon a negative force learns of their budding romance and wants to stop it at any cost. Emily and her assistants must all use their special talents if Joe and Sidney are meant to live happily ever after.

Review:
This book brings the magic of the holiday season to life. I loved watching Joe and Sidney grow together over time. Joey was an adorable kid and his growth through the book was wonderful to read. It broke my heart how he had trouble at school. As a former teacher I hated that he wasn’t getting the support he needed at school. Emily and her assistants were wonderful characters that added to the magic of the story. I kind of hated Glen in the beginning. But I also realized he is very redeemable as a character. I’m hoping in the future he gets a story of his own. He grew in the story as well and deserves his own happily ever after.
Stars:
Four and a half

Guest Post:
I asked Derrick to tell us about the best Christmas he’s had. I am in love with his holiday! Thank you so much for sharing with us Derrick.

The best Christmas I ever had was last year when I spent the holiday in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. I purchased a package deal through Orbiz.com. I didn’t realize on my flight there was I was assigned to first class seating. What a treat a bigger seat, a cocktail, and a meal. What was really great about first class was my seat was the first seat on the airplane so when my flight landed in Puerto Vallarta and the airplane door opened I was the first person off the plane.

During my week stay I sat on the gay beach, drank margarita’s, read some of my favorite gay romances, and of course went shopping. One night I went to my friend’s luxurious condo along the Malecon where he served a wonderful dinner on his fifth floor patio as we watched the sun set over the Pacific Ocean. It was a perfect evening with a magnificent view.

On Christmas Eve night, I went to the beach and helped local environmentalists release baby sea turtles back into the ocean. What a memorial experience. Then a mid-night went to the Catholic Cathedral in the downtown area for Midnight Mass.

On Christmas day, I sat all day on the beach again, swam in the ocean, and watched a Drag Queen Parasailing. At night went to a wonderful gay restaurant with some friends I met during my stay. The food was fabulous! And the cocktails were even better.

Unfortunately, the week sailed by and I returned to the cold weather of Central Illinois to resume my everyday life. The time I spent in Puerto Vallarta during the holidays are memories that will last a life time.

Excerpt:
When Joe lifted his head, he saw the man he had been fantasizing about since Joey was discharged from the hospital. He quickly stood up then nervously swayed back and forth. Partly because he was nervous seeing the man whom he secretly desired, but also because he did not want Sidney to know that he was living here at a homeless shelter. He did not want Sidney’s pity.

“Oh, I…” Joe struggled to find the right words.

“The church hired Mr. Koehler to finish remodeling our library,” Emily said smoothly. “We needed someone right away and by the Lord’s work Mr. Koehler was available. My assistants and I think he is a Godsend.” Emily’s cell phone began to ring. “I need to take this call. It’s my husband.” She looked at Joe. “Would you be willing to give Mr. Maier a tour of Hope House while I take this call?”

Before Joe could respond, Sidney interjected.

“I would like that very much.”

The excitement in Sidney’s voice did not go unnoticed by either Joe or Emily.

“Good,” Emily said, taking her husband’s call as she walked away.

For a few moments Joe and Sidney just stared at each other, both men wanting to say something but too afraid. Finally, Joe mustered up the courage to start the conversation.

About Derrick:
Derrick Knight was born and grew up in Janesville, Wisconsin. Derrick earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Nutrition from the University of Wisconsin-Stout and a Master’s Degree in Health Services Administration from University of St. Francis in Joliet, Illinois. For the last seventeen years, Derrick has been employed as a neonatal nutritionist in a neonatal intensive care unit at the largest teaching hospital in Illinois outside of Chicago.

Growing up Derrick was an avid reader of mystery novels. Agatha Christie was his favorite author. Ever since childhood Derrick dreamed of becoming a writer. He planned on writing mystery novels until a couple of years ago he read his first gay romance novel and he became hooked on the genre.

When Derrick is not writing, he is working on restoring his Arts & Crafts home, tending to his garden, and being an advocate for improving infant nutrition. Currently. Derrick resides in Peoria, Illinois with his two cats Iris and Madison Grace.

Author Contact:
Facebook: https://twitter.com/derrknight
Twitter: https://www.facebook.com/derrick.knight.9883

Where To Buy:
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Miracle-Mistletoe-Lane-Derrick-Knight-ebook/dp/B00P2GNXCY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1414961124&sr=8-1&keywords=miracle+on+mistletoe+lane

Tour Stops:
28-Nov: MM Good Book Reviews
1-Dec: Amanda C. Stone
2-Dec: Cate Ashwood
3-Dec: Hearts on Fire
3-Dec: Inked Rainbow Reads
4-Dec: Scattered Thoughts & Rogue Words
5-Dec: Molly Lolly
8-Dec: Parker Williams
9-Dec: Multitasking Mommas
10-Dec: 3 Chicks After Dark
11-Dec: Wake Up Your Wild Side
12-Dec: The Hat Party
15-Dec: Because Two Men Are Better Than One
15-Dec: Prism Book Alliance
16-Dec: Kimi-Chan
16-Dec: Jade Crystal
17-Dec: Queer Town Abbey
18-Dec: Iyana Jenna
19-Dec: Love Bytes
22-Dec: Book Reviews and More by Kathy
23-Dec: Book Reviews, Rants, and Raves
24-Dec: My Fiction Nook
25-Dec: BFD Book Blog

Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 responses to “Review, Guest Post and Giveaway: Miracle On Mistletoe Lane by Derrick Knight

Leave a Reply

